Amivantamab
A two-armed antibody that blocks EGFR and its escape partner MET, now first-line for EGFR-mutant lung cancer with lazertinib.
Approved for EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC (2021, with chemotherapy 2024, PAPILLON), first-line common EGFR mutations with lazertinib (MARIPOSA, 2024; OS benefit shown 2025), and post-osimertinib with chemotherapy (MARIPOSA-2). Subcutaneous formulation (2025) reduces infusion reactions.
1.Bispecific antibody binds EGFR and MET on the tumour cell
- Route
- IV infusion (subcutaneous Rybrevant Faspro available)
- Schedule
- 1,050 mg (<80 kg) or 1,400 mg (≥80 kg) weekly for 5 weeks (split first dose over 2 days), then every 2 weeks; with lazertinib 240 mg daily
- Dose modifications
- Hold for grade 3 rash or ILD; dermatologic prophylaxis (doxycycline, moisturisers) for 12 weeks; prophylactic anticoagulation for 4 months with lazertinib
- Monitoring
- Infusion reactions during first dose, skin and nails, VTE symptoms, ILD
Source: US prescribing information (DailyMed). Doses are for orientation; the current label governs.
- Medicare
- Part B (clinician-administered)
Given by infusion or injection in a clinic or hospital outpatient department, so it is a Part B drug: Medicare pays 80% after the Part B deductible and the patient owes 20% coinsurance, uncapped in Original Medicare unless a Medigap policy applies. The subcutaneous formulation, if approved, remains clinician-administered and Part B.
- Commercial insurance
- covered with prior authorisation
Covered under the medical benefit with prior authorisation confirming diagnosis, biomarker status and line of therapy; site-of-care policies may steer infusions away from hospital outpatient departments. EGFR exon 20 insertion or common EGFR mutation documented by an approved test.
- Assistance programmes
- Johnson & Johnson withMe
- Johnson & Johnson Patient Assistance Foundation
- PAN Foundation — Disease-specific co-pay and premium funds; open and closed funds change monthly.
- HealthWell Foundation
- CancerCare Co-Payment Assistance Foundation
- Patient Advocate Foundation Co-Pay Relief
20% Part B coinsurance on a high-cost infusion adds up quickly: Medigap Plan G or N, Medicare Advantage maximum out-of-pocket, Medicaid dual eligibility, or a charity fund are the usual buffers.
Sources: Medicare.gov: Chemotherapy · Medicare.gov: Prescription drugs (outpatient, Part B). Not medical or financial advice; verify with your plan.
- Notes
- Licensed 2022 for EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC after platinum; the first NICE appraisal did not recommend it. Later combinations (with lazertinib, MARIPOSA; with chemotherapy, PAPILLON) appraised 2025-26. Check NICE.
Sources: NICE search: amivantamab. Funding decisions are indication-specific and change monthly; verify with NICE and your treating team.
- 21 May 2021ApprovalUS
Accelerated approval, EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC after platinum source
- 1 Mar 2024ApprovalUS
First-line exon 20 insertion with chemotherapy (PAPILLON) source
- 19 Aug 2024ApprovalUS
First-line EGFR-mutant NSCLC with lazertinib (MARIPOSA) source
- 19 Sept 2024ApprovalUS
After osimertinib, with chemotherapy (MARIPOSA-2) source
- Sept 2025ApprovalUS
Subcutaneous formulation (PALOMA-3) source
Approvals
| Region | Year | Indication |
|---|---|---|
| US | 2021 | EGFR exon 20 insertion NSCLC |
| US | 2024 | First-line EGFR-mutant NSCLC with lazertinib |
| Adverse event | Any grade | Grade 3+ |
|---|---|---|
| Rash | 86% | 26% |
| Nail toxicity | 71% | 11% |
| Infusion-related reaction | 63% | 6% |
| Musculoskeletal pain | 47% | 2.1% |
| Oedema | 43% | 2.6% |
| Stomatitis | 43% | 2.4% |
| Venous thromboembolism | 36% | 11% |
| Paraesthesia | 35% | 1.7% |
MARIPOSA, with lazertinib. Rates read from the US prescribing information. Blank cells mean the figure was not sourced, not that it is zero.
| Country | Reimbursement | List price | Assistance |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | Medicare Part B (physician-administered); commercial plans per formulary | not disclosed | janssencarepath.com |
| United Kingdom | NICE: recommended with lazertinib for untreated EGFR-mutant NSCLC (2025) and exon 20 insertion after platinum | not disclosed | — |
List prices are manufacturer or Medicare figures where publicly disclosed; net prices after rebates are usually lower. Reimbursement changes; check the payer.
Trials
topRecruiting now (live from ClinicalTrials.gov)
Country and place are remembered in this browser only. A postcode is sent to OpenStreetMap's Nominatim service to find coordinates when you press the button; nothing else leaves your device.
Landmark trials in OnCo
Latest papers
topQuery for this drug: (TITLE:"Amivantamab" OR ABSTRACT:"Amivantamab" OR TITLE:"Rybrevant" OR ABSTRACT:"Rybrevant") AND (cancer OR tumor OR tumour OR oncology OR carcinoma OR lymphoma OR leukemia OR leukaemia OR myeloma OR sarcoma OR melanoma OR glioma). Results are unfiltered search hits about Amivantamab, not a curated reading list.
Pages like this
not linked directly; found by shared links- TermEGFR C797S
Shares Amivantamab + lazertinib (first-line EGFR NSCLC), Drug-tolerant persister cells, Resistance routes: how a blocked pathway comes back, Receptor tyrosine kinase activation.
- ProductOsimertinib
Shares EGFR TKI → ADC on progression, Dae Ho Lee, EGFR exon 19 deletion & L858R, Amivantamab + lazertinib (first-line EGFR NSCLC).
- PersonShun Lu
Shares Shanghai Chest Hospital, MARIPOSA: amivantamab plus lazertinib versus osimertinib as first treatment for EGFR-mutated lung cancer, EGFR, Non-small-cell lung cancer.
- ProductTelisotuzumab vedotin
Shares MET amplification (bypass resistance), MET, Receptor tyrosine kinase activation, Non-small-cell lung cancer.
- ProductMobocertinib
Shares EGFR exon 20 insertion, EGFR, Non-small-cell lung cancer.
- Key paperFLAURA: osimertinib as first treatment for EGFR-mutated lung cancer
Shares MARIPOSA, Byoung Chul Cho, Acquired resistance to every therapy, EGFR.
- ProductSunvozertinib
Shares EGFR exon 20 insertion, EGFR, Non-small-cell lung cancer.
- ProductGefitinib
Shares EGFR exon 19 deletion & L858R, EGFR, Non-small-cell lung cancer.