Ribociclib
Ribociclib is the CDK4/6 inhibitor with the most consistent survival benefit, approved for a broad population of early breast cancer patients since 2024.
MONALEESA-2/3/7 (OS benefit in all three), NATALEE (adjuvant stage II-III HR+/HER2-, iDFS HR 0.75, approved September 2024). Novartis. QT prolongation and liver enzymes need monitoring.
1.Oral drug is absorbed and reaches the tumour
- Route
- Oral
- Schedule
- 600 mg once daily (advanced) or 400 mg once daily (adjuvant, 3 years) for 21 days then 7 off, with aromatase inhibitor or fulvestrant
- Dose modifications
- Reduce to 400 then 200 mg for QTc >480 ms, hepatotoxicity, neutropenia
- Monitoring
- ECG at baseline, day 14 cycle 1, start of cycle 2; LFTs every 2 weeks for 2 cycles; blood counts; avoid strong CYP3A inhibitors and tamoxifen
Source: US prescribing information (DailyMed). Doses are for orientation; the current label governs.
- Medicare
- Part D (self-administered)
Oral, self-administered, so it is a Part D drug: covered through a stand-alone Part D plan or Medicare Advantage drug benefit, usually on the specialty tier with 25 to 33% coinsurance until the annual cap ($2,000 in 2025, $2,100 in 2026).
- Commercial insurance
- covered with prior authorisation
Covered for FDA-labelled and NCCN-listed uses, but almost always behind prior authorisation confirming diagnosis, biomarker and line of therapy; dispensed through a specialty pharmacy. Some PBMs designate a preferred CDK4/6 inhibitor.
- Assistance programmes
- Novartis Patient Support (Patient Assistance NOW Oncology)
- PAN Foundation — Disease-specific co-pay and premium funds; open and closed funds change monthly.
- HealthWell Foundation
- CancerCare Co-Payment Assistance Foundation
- Patient Advocate Foundation Co-Pay Relief
Part D out-of-pocket capped at $2,000 (2025) / $2,100 (2026). Medicare patients cannot use manufacturer co-pay cards; charity funds (PAN, HealthWell, CancerCare) and the Extra Help subsidy are the routes.
Sources: Medicare.gov: Drug coverage (Part D) · Medicare.gov: Costs for Medicare drug coverage (annual out-of-pocket cap). Not medical or financial advice; verify with your plan.
- Appraised for
- With an aromatase inhibitor for untreated HR-positive, HER2-negative advanced breast cancer
- Notes
- With fulvestrant: TA593 (2019) and TA687 (2021, pre/perimenopausal). Adjuvant use (NATALEE) appraised 2025.
- NHS England
- Routinely funded for the appraised indication (or via managed access)
Sources: NICE TA496 · SMC advice: ribociclib. Funding decisions are indication-specific and change monthly; verify with NICE and your treating team.
- 13 Mar 2017ApprovalUS
With aromatase inhibitor, HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer (MONALEESA-2) source
- 18 Jul 2018ApprovalUS
Pre/perimenopausal women and with fulvestrant (MONALEESA-7/-3) source
- 17 Sept 2024ApprovalUS
Adjuvant stage II-III HR+/HER2- early breast cancer at high risk (NATALEE) source
Approvals
| Region | Year | Indication |
|---|---|---|
| US | 2017 | HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer |
| US | 2024 | Adjuvant stage II-III HR+/HER2- breast cancer at high risk of recurrence |
| Adverse event | Any grade | Grade 3+ |
|---|---|---|
| Neutrophils decreased NATALEE / MONALEESA-2 | 94% | 45% |
| Leukocytes decreased NATALEE / MONALEESA-2 | 95% | — |
| Lymphocytes decreased NATALEE / MONALEESA-2 | 97% | — |
| Infections NATALEE / MONALEESA-2 | 37% | — |
| ALT/AST increased (grade 3-4) 8-11% across trials | — | 8% |
| Nausea NATALEE / MONALEESA-2 | — | — |
| Fatigue NATALEE / MONALEESA-2 | — | — |
| Diarrhoea NATALEE / MONALEESA-2 | — | — |
| QT prolongation Concentration-dependent; ECG monitoring required | — | — |
Rates read from the US prescribing information. Blank cells mean the figure was not sourced, not that it is zero.
| Country | Reimbursement | List price | Assistance |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | Medicare Part D (oral); commercial plans per formulary, often with prior authorisation | not disclosed | novartis.com/us-en/patient-support |
| United Kingdom | NICE: recommended with aromatase inhibitor (TA496), fulvestrant (TA687), and adjuvant (2025) | not disclosed | — |
List prices are manufacturer or Medicare figures where publicly disclosed; net prices after rebates are usually lower. Reimbursement changes; check the payer.
Trials
topRecruiting now (live from ClinicalTrials.gov)
Country and place are remembered in this browser only. A postcode is sent to OpenStreetMap's Nominatim service to find coordinates when you press the button; nothing else leaves your device.
Landmark trials in OnCo
Latest papers
topQuery for this drug: (TITLE:"Ribociclib" OR ABSTRACT:"Ribociclib" OR TITLE:"Kisqali" OR ABSTRACT:"Kisqali") AND (cancer OR tumor OR tumour OR oncology OR carcinoma OR lymphoma OR leukemia OR leukaemia OR myeloma OR sarcoma OR melanoma OR glioma). Results are unfiltered search hits about Ribociclib, not a curated reading list.